1. People & Relationships

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Zoosk Review

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Met on ZooskJune 15, 2013 By lisarwhite
July of 2011 my boyfriend and I met on Zoosk. As of Thursday, June 13th, we got engaged and couldn't be happier. If not for Zoosk we never would have met. I was never a proponent of online dating but something unexplained caused me to sign up on the site and it changed both our lives. Thanks Zoosk!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
These people are nuts...June 14, 2013 By talulahj
Luckily I agreed to meet in public when i tried 3 times fron the dating site, the site should actually carry a warning and not aspire to match people up... otherwise include things like do you really have a job or do you just lie a lot... and here's another how many times do you take a bath per month and include once, twice, daily or never on the list before attempting compatibility measures..... Go somewhere in a physical location to meet someone... please don't listen to the compatability scores because they have to be wrong... I will never talk to anyone else ever on the site...
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Only way I can get my money's worth is to tell allJune 09, 2013 By chat2chilli
I had been a paid subscriber to zoosk for a few months when all of a sudden I am blocked by a zoosk administrator. I also received an email from them saying sorry to see you go as though I had cancelled my subscription. This all took place over 3 months prior to my paid subscription being due. I have sent dozens of emails to them asking for this problem to be rectified with not one reply. I then opened another profile and emailed them many more times still no response. I kept writing them messages in the ""about me"" section to see again if I would get a response.....still nothing. They were obviously reading these messages as they kept rejecting the content. So they owe me 3 months subscription fee and for that I will write bad reviews wherever I can. Use Plenty of Fish instead as it offers the same for ZERO dollars. I urge everyone who has received nothing but ignorance from Zoosk to advertise this wherever they can....also spread the word to use a competitor. Remember POF :)....Zoosk :(
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Got sick of the sensorshipMay 16, 2013 By ylenny
Everything u type has to go thru the zoosk sensors. I complained a few times but it got worse. I think there was someone within the organisation that took exception to me. They were even objecting to my profile after someone had already passed it. Got fed-up in the end and started promoting the 'Meet up' organisation as an alternative to their bs. Needless to say I got kicked out. I still had 2 months of paid subscription to go. These sites are meant to be for adults you'd think it would be better to sensor after we made a complaint.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Unprofessional and waste of timeMay 06, 2013 By Carlos1239
This site is a complete joke. It lacks basic features and has hidden charges with the stupid coins you need to buy after paying for a subscription. Avoid this site as it is a complete waste of time and money.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't do it!April 28, 2013 By nineteen63
The app(s) are really terrible. They seemingly remember your first choice - forever. But it gets worse... I do wonder if anyone meets on Zoosk. I never did after 3 months of trying. The girls were either unsuitable or not contactable. Yes, those who were interesting/or showed interest, never responded because I suspect they needed to pay to read your messages. (If you are on Zoosk ATM and wonder why you get no responses I think this is the reason.) The same girls would almost spam my profile but then didn't respond when you messaged them. Zoosk also likes you to add ""coins"" which cost money but do little. ""Boosting"" your profile makes you look desperate and confirming whether someone read your message was pointless as I never got a confirmation. Finally, if you failed on Zoosk, don't worry, I think most people do. They take your money but you get little in return. Once I found a proper dating site (eH) I found my current partner within 7 days. All in all, a very frustrating experience. Don't repeat my mistakes regardless what other ""reviews"" say about Zoosk.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Zoosk Account Closed for no ReasonApril 26, 2013 By mrandrewcorson
I signed up for zoosk and used it for several months. Then one day I got a notice that my account was under review. Shortly after I was notified my account was closed. I sent several emails to support@zoosk.com but received no response. UNDISCLOSED REASON - Today I finally got around to calling their number. The representative confirmed that my account had been cancelled and that I had been reimbursed. I asked several times as to why and each time I was put on hold as they she searched for more info. In the end she said my account was ""blocked"" because of ""fraudulent activity"" - but could not state what that activity was, she claimed they were ""not allowed to disclose"" it, but from the sound of it, here computer screen didn't say and therefore she couldn't. ACCOUNT STILL VISIBLE - But the worst part was that I asked them to erase my account. She said she could not do that, but not to worry because nobody could see my account since it was blocked. I then informed her that I am getting regular notifications each week from people who have viewed my account. CANNOT ERASE ACCOUNT - She said the most she could do was to turn off the notifications. It was at that point I realized I needed to warn others of this. I now have a profile that other humans believe to be active online that I cannot get rid of. This is a problem and it is very frustrating.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
this site is totally automatic to get guys get $$April 26, 2013 By zit1343
this site is totally automated to get guys get buy premium membership. If you send wink to a girl you will get reply in 1 second of sending wink from girl saying wink is good get membership to chat with me. wouldn't recommend .
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Zoosk is a rip-off, scam, fake-dating siteApril 17, 2013 By LOC423
Just like the other comment on here, zoosk is a complete scam. What you'll find IS many fake profiles that I believe are created by non-other than employees of zoosk themselves. Try and do a search for a woman within your preferences. First off you have limited search options, then you find that the zoosk website adds profiles of women that don't fit your search options such as women who have children when you already clicked ""no"" under ""children"" in the search options and you end up seeing women with ages older than you selected as well. This is to compensate for lack of users or what are really fake profiles. People ""online"" never answer because they don't exist. Profile pictures are very suspect, of course. You get notifications that someone is supposedly interested in you so you can be a sucker and join but then have to use ""coins"" to talk to them and you can't search by username. Just learn how to socialize and go up to a woman outside rather than waste precious time. I wish I could make my own anti-zoosk commercial were I get to rip the stuffing out of that heart of theirs and throw that silly laptop against the wall+ slap that woman who is convinced she should meet ""Brad"". That's the zoosk mainframe name: Brain-recreated-algorithms-destiny. Besides its name sounds so ridiculous like the noise you make during hangover-induced vomiting. zoosk.com = fake, useless, scam, rip-off, junk, spam, not a dating site. The z in zoosk is not worth the capital letter. Stay away as you've been warned fairly.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
scam scamApril 16, 2013 By pandc01
This sight is total cr*p. It doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure this out. Send a wink to someone and you get an immediate response with the same type of questions. ""thanks for the wink and please tell me more about yourself"" or something very similar to that. These people are not for real. Everything is computer automated responses. Not hard to figure this out. You have been told!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Micro-transactions have reached online datingApril 10, 2013 By rynoth
I saw the Zoosk advertisements everywhere so I figured I'd give them a shot. The only good thing to say of them is they have a brilliant ad department. It doesn't take long before you realize what they're after. Your money. I signed up for a 3 month stint with the website. First you pay the subscription fee, AND a one time ""activation fee."" The activation fee is most likely to squeeze as much initial money out of you because they know after you try their service once, you will look elsewhere in the future. This is due in part to the fact that the number of women on zoosk does not increase regularly. You will see the same profiles week after week before anyone ""new"" pops up. And there is about a 75% chance that ""new"" woman will be a fake user created by a scam artist. After only my first month I was uploading any remotely attractive women's profile picture(s) to google images just to see what ""popped up."" Amateur porn stars, random website images, and photos stolen from myspace pages was what I got. I repeatedly reported these profiles to Zoosk, but their cracker-jack team of admins and moderators didn't seem to mind. I had accumulated 3 pages of blocked (fake) users and I would still come across a profile I'd reported multiple times in the past in my searches. They ban you for putting your email address in your profile, but post a cropped image of an attractive pornstar and they don't fact check in the slightest. Another thing is the Zoosk Scientific match, and Carousel. Which is where the micro-transactions come in. Zoosk will regularly send you emails about a ""scientific match"" which just means, ""You're Christian? SHE'S Christian! You smoke? SHE smokes! You guys should totally hook up!"" If you agree to the match and she does too, she becomes your ""Mutual Match"" which must be unlocked with ""Zoosk coins"" a fake currency that you have to pay real money for, or sign up for spam, surveys, and other garbage to obtain. Carousel works the same way. So after all this bs you're left much poorer with scarcely a lady in sight. With terrible moderation, horrid pricing, and fake users galore stay away from these rip-off experts. Just do Plenty of Fish. There may be fake users, and scam artists on that site too, but at least I can get the same ""benefits"" of Zoosk minus the price of admission.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
zoosk sucksMarch 25, 2013 By corkscrewed
I tried zoosk, and I've contacted them many times because they automatically set your search criteria to 100 miles and you have to manually ""change"" and ""modify"" that everytime you go in. There is no way I would want to travel 100 miles just to meet someone, but the Zoosk folks think it's okay. Want to get more noticed and more popular? Try buying tokens. Everything you need to make things better at Zoosk costs you more money. I bought a 6 month membership and they continue to try to match me with people that are all over the place...nearby, far away and definitely NOT within my criteria of someone I would want to meet. I complained to them and I got this ""canned"" apology. Bottom line...join match, plenty of fish, or ok cupid. Zoosk sucks.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not really freeMarch 20, 2013 By abylaunch
They advertise them selves as a ""free"" dating site but in reality if someone messages you, you can only message them back ONE time without being a paid subscriber thus unless you are paying you can't actually chat with people or even view all the messages paid subscribers send to you.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
What a HORRIBLE site!March 17, 2013 By ABC555
Zero stars. This dating site operates on the rope-a-dope principle and leaves the user feeling vulnerable. Imagine my horror when I logged into this site--after choosing a username--and my ACTUAL NAME appeared, next to my location (not that I ever give my real location on dating sites)! You have no choice but to post a photo, and once you do it is impossible to delete it. Once I realized my error in joining, I tried to find a way to delete my account. Very difficult. Oh, they give the instructions easily enough (""Go up by your name, find Settings, blah, blah""), but actually FINDING the little grey ""Deactivate Account"" link was not easy. Mind you, I hadn't even created a profile at this point, and I certainly did not get to the part where I would pay for a subscription. So, if you like being a potential target go for it. But I felt victimized just from the initial sign-on process. Awful.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
FRAUD DATING SITEMarch 14, 2013 By richfun4u
I joined the dating site on a Friday and not one response by in 7 days, I paid for a booster and they took all the point from me withut my authorization. They allowed my membership to be compromised and gave me a virus. Warning, dont join.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Not worth your time or moneyFebruary 26, 2013 By Lesley1021
Zoosk.com is not worth or time or money! Do not pay to join this site. They are great at the add-on feature so that you are paying more than just the subscription fee. I made the mistake of joining the site. The only contact I have had have been liars. They are from other countries. The only good thing is that I was not taken in and did not give anyone any money, well except the site.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Total WasteFebruary 15, 2013 By PJMantis21
I figured I would give it a try even after reading some reviews. Here's what I found: the vast majority of profiles are not active, out of the remaining ""recently online"" profiles most of them aren't paying memebers so you can't communicate with them. You are left with a very small pool of people and thats with a 100 mile radius in your search(you will be shown profiles further then that). What it comes down to if you look within 20 miles of where you live you'll be lucky to get a handful of people and out of that what are the chances they're someone that will be your type? The only pro I can find is I was about to sign up, had entered my c-card info and saw the ""activation fee"" on top of the plan amount. I backed out then and instantly was notified that the activation fee would be waved if I signed up within several hours...so at least I saved that. I spent 2 weeks on it, made a few contacts had a few conversations (with women nearly 100 miles away). I had plenty of looks at my profile, very few initiated any communication. If I initiated only few responded (likely nonpaying members). I cancelled my subscription and deactivated my account - now I need to make sure I don't get a charge for next month (heard that story about zoosk too). Oh, and btw I'm not ugly. I'm 35 6'2"" 185lbs I'm in shape and some may even describe me as ""handsome"" :) It's a waste of time and money. Cruse it as a non-paying member if you want but dont' waste a dime on it!!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
zoosk is a scamJanuary 28, 2013 By dsw500
This is a HORRIBLE site for dating and meeting people. DO NOT PAY THEM ANY MONEY to find out more about it. You will get lots of attention from people out of state and quite frankly... I can't believe they found that many hideous losers to post their pictures and profiles. Quite honestly, I'm appaled that I posted my profile! Worst, the only person I found worth chatting with seemed to have a major disconnect that left me perplexed. I downloaded his photo and did a google search and it instantly came up as a photo that had been used in multiple frauds. DO NOT USE this site. I promise you would thank me. If you do use it, you will quickly say ""wow, that guy was absolutely right."" You have been warned.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Site is Scam, don't waist you timeJanuary 12, 2013 By simpleguyinciry
I was a member and I spent a little time on this website. Others are right DO NOT GIVE YOUR CREDIT CARD TO THIS WEB SITE, they will charge you, and to get refunded you have to spend few hours for few days, and still not get your money back. Some of the members you see on this site are fake and made up to encourage people. Few scam artists are also there with fake pics and names that want your money only. Be warned, and don't waist you time there, Take Care
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
no refundsJanuary 04, 2013 By yepImPISSEDOFF
I signed up three days ago for a 6 month membership...and then found out what Zoosk really is. NO REFUNDS...and make sure you cancle the auto renew!!! I thought I would like this app because I am always on Facebook - so checking in would happen often-instead of the logings at other dating sites. well just because of its affiliated with facebook I was disapointed right off the start. It copied everthing from my facebook account and put it in my dating prifle...yep my favorite show is Jake and the Neverland Pirates. It will NOT allow you to filter the search down to 10 miles - it always puts it back at 100 (more people)no matter how many times i cahnge and save. It also will NOT ALLOW you filter the gender race or religion of people who contact you. Getting bombarded by people out of state and race is a joyous cleanup ritual. I never have the time to clean up, delete and block enough to get see people in my own town . Sucks. Going back to MATCH.COM sucks I lost my money
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
ZOOSK IS THE MOST SCANDALOUS DATING SITE...December 19, 2012 By christina_10019
I joined zoosk 2 days ago. I paid a membership fee of 60.00, took the time to write everything and do the questionnaires. I recieve an email thismorning telling me that my account subscription has been cancled and my profile deleted. I never got any emails warning me about anything. They thought the photos I put up were inapropriate (bikini), so they deleted them even though I recieved the email saying that they were approved. They never informed me that they deleted them or that there was any problem. so I called their website number and spoke with a very rude and snobish woman who told me: ""we don't have to give you a reason why this was done"", and ""we're not refunding the 60.00 "". Turns out my bikini pic was earased because it was taken ""indoors"" not out. That's ridiculous! They even deleted my headshots with no explanation. Another thing, if they don't like how you worded your profile, they make changes, delete things and don't tell you. Even as a paying member you're limited as to how many winks or adds you can send out. Theres no reason for that. also, if you want to send personal info they won't let you. SO WHAT IS THE POINT IN HAVING A DATING SITE IF YOU CANT EXCHANGE EMAILS, PHONE NUMBERS OR FACEBOOK????? HOW CAN YOU POSSIBLY REALLY CONTACT THESE PEOPLE. ITS A SCAM!!!!!! DO NOT JOIN! SAVE YOUR MONEY!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
zooskDecember 03, 2012 By tshblack2011
Dont join zoosk, they block your profile if ur pic has friends in it, if they dont like what you say abt yourelf they block your profile too, u cnat even reply to a email, not worth joining, I joined 3xs and they blocked all of them.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.