1. People & Relationships
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Plenty of Fish Review

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
POF patheticly deletes profiles for no reasonMay 29, 2013 By tmplgrl
if u had asked me 2 weeks ago i would have said yes this is a good site but as of his week i have nothing but bad things to say about pof.. ive been deleted off pof for no reason other then tell guys im not interested in them and have been harrassed in private n on pof for telling guys no its sad that the admins say they INVVESTIGATE complaints and delete for nude and sexual stuff but i have not ever went against the rules if the so called admins had of actually looked into my info n profile n messages they would have had no reason in ne way to have an issue with my profile..instead of investigating like the admins say they do in there rules they just delete and they dont even have enough class to message u saying theres been a complaint. not a word not a message not a thing from pof admins ..apparently its ok to b harrassed by guys with naked pics of there privates as profile pics but ur not allowed to say no not interested i in no way will ever promote ne use or nething to do with pof this site is more hassle then its worth .. for a dating site its less then poor but i had to give it a star cause id give it a -100 if i could....
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
They Deleted My AccountMay 26, 2013 By gammillian
A while ago I created an account at POF. I no longer needed that account, so I had it deactivated. After 10 months I came back to reopen my account. Reactivation didn't seem to be an option...so I created a new account using the same email address that I used before. Within 12 hours all the time I put into creating the account has been lost. I can't login. It says my login credentials don't exist in their system. Upon reading other complains of POF I suspect they deleted my account some 12 hours later because the email address had been used previously. Wow...I wasn't trying to do anything tricky. This is crazy on the part of POF.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Where do I start.May 26, 2013 By paserby
To begin with it is not ""completely"" free. Sure you can sign up but that is just a ploy to have you upgrade or purchase something called ""goldfish"". As far as ""The Creator"" and that is what he likes to be recognized as. Also his username. Has recently implemented a new strong policy that limits you from dating anyone that is more than 14 years different than yourself. Well if that makes them not an adult I agree. But putting this and more restrictions is just in my opinion the result of someone's overactive ego. It is his ""vision"" and if you do not follow he will delete you is the most recent message that was sent to me before I simply decided to cancel my membership, I never really met anyone that was not either drunk or afraid to actually talk on there anyway. But seriously it is though there is a all out blaming of men from the site as of lately. They state that it is men pretending to be Women always and Men that are the bad element. That is too stereotyped and besides that they have to be reading your mail as they state if you send one mail that is not in line with policy you will be removed forever. Ok, so what about the environment. the web layout, The social forums? The Website is ""cheesy"" at best. it is of poor design and as far as the forums it is just not user friendly at all. Now for your Money, remember ""Completely Free"" I read that on the ad just minutes ago. No, if you want to know when someone viewed your profile and things like advanced look into anothers' profile and the ""goldfish"" you can purchase so you can send things like pretend chocolates or something is gimmicky and not free at all. From the name to the content it is just a very weak site. I did stay there for some time till they I received the letter as all did about how man was this and basically evil. LOL. well, telling adults how old they have to be to see each other is not something that reflects the other freedoms I hold close. What if you did meet someone that was 15 years age difference and then you were removed before you had exchanged phone numbers? Thumbs Down and no way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
New Updates to override user preferencesMay 25, 2013 By CliffordK
For a long time, POF has allowed users to enter their own contact restrictions, for example choosing ages of users that they are willing to correspond with. In a sweeping move, POF management decided to override the personal contact preferences of all users, limiting the people they are ""allowed"" to contact with no ability to remove the management restrictions. Apparently also cutting off preexisting communication between many users. Now, a 50 yr old would not be allowed to talk to a 35 yr old or a 65 yr old by management decision. If not ""allowed"" by management, one can't even contact other forum posters with personal messages. Search parameters are apparently automatically changed by the system to reflect management ideals. They have removed the ability to share private images among friends. Old mail & correspondence is routinely deleted. Forum posts are heavily edited, and deleted by the moderators without comment and users are blocked from further posting without comment. In short, if you agree with all of the POF management choices for you, then it may be a good site. If you wish to have freedom to make your own relationship choices, look elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Sent letter for Founder and account was deletedMay 24, 2013 By nowliveit
I have been a member of Plenty of Fish for at least 8 years and have met a couple of good men on this site. The founder suddenly sent everyone a message announcing a new restriction: no one can chat with someone more than 14 years in age difference - His message is attached. I sent this simple question asking him if that was a personal choice or what because I am married to someone with a larger age difference and it seems to happen in many couples, heterosexual or homosexual. I do not see this rule as helping him to accomplish his goal. ""5/21/2013 2:09:38 AM Markus, I am so happy for your success. And I wonder about rule #2. Is that based on your personal opinion or on the real world. I am married to a man who is half my age; legally married. It just ended like some relationships do...in case you're questioning why I'm on here. I know many many gay couples with an age difference greater than 14 years...I'm sure that's true of heterosexual couples, too. Thank you for reconsidering."" Instead of having the respect to answer me he deleted my account thinking I would just go away. I will now send this to every review site and media that has covered him. Now I know he is not a man of respect and dignity. I copied our messages for my records and am glad I did. He surely did not consider that, thinking he could cover his tracks. I have attached both of our messages.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Unfriendly and uninvitingApril 10, 2013 By hedwards126
I just spent about a week on their between two accounts. They deleted the first account without permitting me to do anything at all with it. No explanation and no notification that they had even deleted the account. They deleted the second one with no explanation at all as to why, or even mentioning that they had deleted it. The questionnaire is completely useless if you haven't been dating previously, and the general attitude of the site admins is one of snobbery and elitism. Users asking about low reply rates get shouted down for things that the respondent imagines they said. In short, it's unfriendly and uninviting and I hope other sites are better than POF.
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
March 31, 2013 By nissanluvr88
In the beginning I loved this site, and then they started deleting my account and they won't let me sign up anymore. I officially do not like this site anymore and very upset they deleted my accounts without letting me know why. When I would contact them asking them why, they would not contact me back. I'm very upset and now have a hard time meeting men.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
It worked for meMarch 24, 2013 By lissastone
Both me, my two sisters and my friend all found our partners on pof, I put us all on. My friend has been with her partner nealy 3 years as has one of my sister the other sister 2 and a half and getting married to him next year. Me and my boyfriend are nearly a year. Yes I did have to wade through plenty of not so nice men but it was totally worth it to meet my boyfriend who is amazing!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I can't block his profile or pictureJanuary 26, 2013 By alot2offer
I (like alot of you) met someone at POF and the relationship didn't work out. He's on my top 20 ""relationship prospects"" and because it didn't work out, I started searching for that person I'd like to spend my next forever with. I go into the site and who's picture is staring me right in the face but his. POF only allows you to block people from emailing but you cannot block their profile or picture. It's pretty annoying when you're trying to move on with your life. BTW he's a ""player"" and for you guys, i can't speak for other women but I'm mature enough to know that a pretty face is nothing if you have an ugly heart.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
POF is terribleJanuary 24, 2013 By MikeNh45
I know for a fact this guy who runs this site reads everyone's emails. Its a power trip for him to cancel accounts for none sense reasons. Don't waste your time with site, the qualify of the site and the people advertising on it are very low.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best site out thereJanuary 19, 2013 By bekkoramma
This site is great! It's free and I met my fiance on there. I tried a lot of other free dating sites and never had the success I found on this one. I'd recommend it to everyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
5 years ago on Plenty of FishJanuary 17, 2013 By joannritter
I met my husband on this site. We chatted and talked on the phone for weeks and then decided to meet. We met on January 2nd, 2008. Ever since that day I could not leave his side. We started to build a business together and brought together our families. We married this last September 15th, 2012. Thank you Plenty of Fish if it wasn't for your site I would have never found my soul mate and best friend!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
POF is run by CanadiansJanuary 06, 2013 By feraltyger
Americans aren't really popular in Canada and it shows in their nonexistent customer service. If you have an issue don't ever expect your emails to be answered. I don't know if there's 2 people working at CSR trying to deal with issues and are overworked, or they simply don't care. Either way if you have a problem you might as well cancel your account and start a new one. Their forums would be great if they didn't have power tripping moderators on there. Getting banned for no reason and then not telling you why. One mod (there's 2) has his settings so males can't email him...and the other one is a power tripping woman who obviously can't get dates. The ratio of men to women is ridiculous-if you're a man due to the volume of competition and for the women because they have to filter through tons of emails. I wouldn't recommend this site to a guy unless you're Jesus Gerard Pitt level.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Avoid this site to many problemsJanuary 05, 2013 By Mike42day
I tried POF and hated from the first moment 1. The site would always freeze for some reason. 2. I think They pay models to put up thier profiles because I never receive a response. 3. I tried to update my profile and after spending an hour I clicked to update, the pass word box came up I retyped it and I lost everything I typed. Unless you enjoy waste your time Plenty Of Fish is like 3 day old fish, it's slimy and stinks.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Facts about this siteNovember 04, 2012 By thekammer
I have been a member since 2005 and have met one person since that time. The girls on the site do not respond to messages and can recieve up to 60 messages a day as the ratio of male to female is terribly in favor of the females. The females on the site only look at your picture and generally do not even read your email or profile before deletion of your message. Even the most average to below average looking of females on the site will not respond unless you are a Brad Pitt or Soap opera star. The forum on this site itself had 2 members provide an experiment with one average member and one that was well above average. The member that was above average dished every female on this site and claimed that he was there only for cheap sex when he felt like it. The females on the site flocked to the picture in spite of writing in their profile that they wanted a serious 1 on 1 relationship built on trust, yada yada...This is even true of the so called 40+ crowd who is supposed to be smart enough to realize a more permanent relationship requires compatibility more so than just what you look like. A higher percentage of the vast emails the females recieve daily is from younger members looking for easy sex, married men looking for action on the side, or cheaters in a relationship. The younger members freequently attempt to convince most members into sending nude photo's or cyber sex. There are less games being played in the bar scene than on this site. This site is extremely demoralizing for average decent people looking for a real relationship.... If you're lucky, you may get one response back for every 100 messages sent, and usually it's one very short sentence. The expectations of the females on this site are just too high to be a useful tool in finding an actual relationship.
79 of 88 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
I Just Cant Eat Anymore..October 14, 2012 By sarahfromflorida
I feel so much sadness and stress that its affected me badly. I just cant eat anymore and I feel so sad, just very deeply sad. Im trying to be optimistic but its very hard and I have to force myself to do things and really I would rather just sleep. Earlier this week I met a man who I thought was nice, he came with the British Navy to Cape Canaveral FL in a submarine from St Marys GA. He told me it was his first time in America and that he was from Scotland. I really liked spending time with him and I felt so much happiness but something happened that changed everything. Suddenly he stops speaking to me and a whole week goes by which makes me turn into a nervous wreck. I couldnt get ahold of him and I tried calling and texting him, even visiting where he lived and heard nothing. Finally, I get a text from him saying leave me alone and that was very unusual since we had a good connection and strong friendship. He told me he was sorry for treating me this way but he had to because he was falling for me. Then when I tried to talk with him about it he began to yell at me ""go!"" ""leave now!"" and it really hurt my feelings. I asked him why he was doing this and he continued to say mean things to me and now I havnt heard anything. I dont understand why this is happening. I even feel like I love him and its so sad. Now I cant stop thinking about him and how sad I feel. I miss him so much.
3 of 28 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Plenty of FishSeptember 27, 2012 By Phenix191
I tried it a couple of times but it didn't work out for me because the majority of women I emailed didn't answer my email. Very little results with actually meeting someone on Plenty of Fish. Women seemed hostile on Plenty of Fish. One woman told me she had been a member for two months and had received 600 emails and some of the emails were not very nice and were from much younger members they weren't interested in because of their age. I guess that explains why some women were hostile and didn't answer my emails. I canceled my membership.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No luck registeringSeptember 15, 2012 By mariusvanc
Apparently TELUS internet subscribers are not welcome to register on POF. I have never been to the site before, at least not in many many years, and find myself blocked. Well done, pof. The site smacks of rank amateurism. I expected to get what I pay for, but the more I read and find out about the site, the less upset I am about being blocked.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Pof is terrible. MoxyMatch worked great for me.September 13, 2012 By cjamesm
I tried Pof for very long without any success. I then switched to MoxyMatch and it worked great for me. I found my mate easily in few days. It's free as well.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Don't trust the tests!!!!!April 27, 2012 By faffeldt
It's pretty good from a free dating site but BEWARE!!!! Do not do personality tests there or chemistry or is he/she a keeper. As a mental health care professional, I strongly disagree with the results. For example, On the test, "" Is he a keeper?"" I entered text book warning signals for a sociopath, that's a psychopath to you all out there. This is someone that could kill you and not bat an eye. Ted Bundy type. What POF results spit out was some kind of benign results. Feeling kind of guy, ( yeah when his hands are around your neck!) Very dangerous for those of use not schooled or educated in psychology or by harsher means, God forbid!!! BEWARE!!!!!!!
54 of 87 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
April 13, 2012 By Joe397
1. I've toyed around with it a bit but I don't if I would recommend online dating in general. 2. That said this is a well designed site. Very easy to set up and navigate. It also has a lot of users which is a plus. It's probably not the best tool if you're looking for a long term relationship but I think that makes sense for a free site. 3. I'm not an especially attractive or accomplished and I had no problem finding interested women. I'm sure there are scammers and snobs on the site but I didn't find either to be a problem.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
POF is a complete and utter jokeMarch 23, 2012 By Ascendant78
The men to women ratio is usually about 5 to 1 in most areas. Just do a local search in your area and compare the amount of men in an area, then check the women. Anyway, this ends up over-inflating the women's heads, and making it nearly impossible for any man to meet someone. Just look around on forums discussing POF and you'll consistently see men indicating that it is a waste of time. Many of the women on there are either not serious (aka they want to find their ""dating value"", looking for an ego-boost, current boyfriend doesn't give them enough attention, etc.), gold diggers, snooty, and the list goes on. On average, if you are a male and 1 in 50 women respond to a message you send them, you are lucky. If you could end up meeting 1 in 500, that is a miracle. No, this is not an exaggeration, just try it and you'll see what I mean. There are far better sites out there, but since I don't know what rules there are to mentioning competitors, I'll just leave it at keep looking, cause there is much better out there guys. POF will only leave you feeling frustrated and/or depressed.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
plenty of Fish Login Problems 9/3/2012March 09, 2012 By singletomingle
Due to dead or dormant profiles being hacked on the dating site POF ( Plenty of fish ) the site will be down to remove profiles being used for spam of phishing. Dead or dormant profiles are having web addresses listed on them, and then being re-activated.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst site everFebruary 12, 2012 By me1111111
nothing but liars,cheaters,game players. i was even robbed by a woman. dont believe anything these people say. nothing but crazies and psychos. BEWARE OF THIS SITE! dont make me say i told you so
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not a good site to find long term relationshipsFebruary 01, 2012 By happyending19
Please note: Message is for long term/committed relationship seekers on POF: How many people including yourself know of a successful long term relationship that comes out from POF? Let's set the common measurement of success as a committed couple that has gone out together for more than 1 or more years or engaged or married. If the answer is ""NO"", stop the search of your Prince Charming or Princess Beautiful on PoF and go back to the traditional ways where true love and the successful cases were found. For non-believers, good luck keep trying and hope you are the lucky one that goes against all odds. Don't say this message didn't warn you already if you were hurt, cheated and used.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
POF (Plenty of fish)January 10, 2012 By rediculousness2010
Unfortunately you get what you pay for. I understand you can upgrade your account if wanted and move to the top etc. However, even by doing that I do not believe that people with any sort of class or seeking another with class will find this site useful. If you do chose to use the site I would recommend keeping your profile to a minimum and once you begin talking to someone limit the information you share. Talk for a few months before meeting and ask as many questions as you can think of. Really try to get to know the person and throw out some trickster questions too. From other people I know that have used the site say that they know it as mainly a 'one night stand' type of set up. I do know of one couple who meet on there and have now been together for 2yrs so yes it can happen. Recommendation..if you are seriously seeking a relationship go on eharmony or something...there you gotta pay so more than likely at least the mentality level you are dealing with will be that of a higher quality person. who knows and god luck.
9 of 15 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
This website is not good anymore, try yumpole.comDecember 26, 2011 By amy4pure
I have been on pof site forever, but having no luck. I will recommend yumpole.com This site is pretty good in finding matches, and I found my soulmate within few search results. Good luck!
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Girls brougth back from the dead not risk takersOctober 15, 2011 By crusin4abrusin
I have been on this site on and off for about 4 years now. I have never met a chick off of here. Im not picky, but most the girls on here are, very very picky, resulting in emails to alot of girls. Trying to hook a girl fish style you put your hook and worm in the water with your messages at one time and wait for a date and a bite. Girls on here are from all walks of life but call me creepy for what? I try to pose good for the ladies but im no expert, nor no expert talking to them, these women just dont understand the meaning of life. Their Mr Right is Mr Rich washboard abs and she weighs more than him almost by double. Women cant live with them cant live without them.
28 of 48 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
October 13, 2011 By chuck2444
The women on this site are so particular it's ridiculous, and they mostly say they want to go on dates, when really they just want to lead you on and waste your time, good luck actually getting a number or anything out of it. I'm going to stop trying these internet dating sites and just do it for real- Damn i am tired of being excited about meeting internet dates and then being let down. If it worked for you then great, but if not i am sure you're feeling this.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It is a joke.September 19, 2011 By tstocker
I am a kind and decent man. I have a good job and I am in good shape. I treat women like gold. Heres the catch...on this site if you are not GQ like then a women will not give you the time of day. I dated a pretty lady..out for 5 hours with her..and 50 dollars later.....your not my type. I am done with this site. Guys....if your like me then dump this site. BTW ladies when your tag line reads looking for an honest man....if you only want young studs then don't give us decent men your whining lies and lying eyes. We deserve better!
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Plenty of dudesAugust 16, 2011 By Markiej
I've been on and off the site for 4 years plus. I adored the site at first. Lots of connections, dates, and even a longterm relationship. Now, there are ten times the profiles, and one tenth the activity. I have no idea what's the scoop. Im guessing a poor men-to-women ratio. And a whole lot of semiliterate types. Or maybe my problem is that I refuse to email any woman who puts ""I love to laugh"" on her profile, because it's a stupid thing to type, like ""I require food"".
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good site for the well-informedAugust 11, 2011 By mokkijo
It's a very open format, you'll meet all kinds and I recommend this site to only the savvy daters, with alot of life's experience. I have met many nice guys but also many ""closeted"" men on this site, more so than on other sites.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Singles BEWARE !!July 18, 2011 By jmalameda
This site is absolutely pathedic. I've been a member of other sites for a long time and met some nice decent people. After being signed up on this low life site for all of 2 weeks, they actually deleted my profile because I responded to a man who was behaving very inappropriately. In fact the man was insisting on knowing my bra size and wouldn't leave me alone. Rather than report him, I made the mistake of telling him off via email through the site, then blocked him from making contact with me. The next thing I know, I tried logging in only to find that my profile had been removed. Don't even think about calling anyone because there are no phone #'s, only email. So I received an email that talked about my poor behavior when in actuality I was responding to someone rather than anyone wanting to know more about what happened. It clearly doesn't seem that they monitor their site nor investigate any of their users. Ole Markus Frind just wants those numbers to go up on member registrations....that's all he cares about. They don't care who signs up on their sites and believe me I had some real winners reach out to me including Mr. ""what's your bra size"". Don't waste your time....you get what you pay for and it's free !
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
its OK but also consider another siteJune 17, 2011 By yanno
i've been on plenty of fish for several years and dated over 50 women. I don't mean to brag, noram i egotistic, however, I consider my self good looking and i was told from the dates that i am handsome. From my experience, from better (pic) to worse ( face to face) - many dont look like there photos. Theres not much of a big difference compared to other sites but i am getting the impression on pof that there is lots of cougars who only want a one night stance with a 25 year old. Also, lots of woman and men lie about there status. Many are actually married but they claim there single (watch out for profiles with no pics) they dont want to be spotted or there so FAT!! that there embarrsed to expose themselves. I find it very difficult to meet equilibrium: the ones you have interest, email them or put them in your favorites, they dont seem to respond but the ones you have no interste, always respond. The problem that hot looking girls on here get ambushed with tons of guys where you really stand no chance such as free dating sites like pof.... Why? its free!!! anybody can join.....paid sites are better because people are more serious and there paying for it. The reality is that most people shy away from paid sites because of the risk involved such as not finding anyone and losing out on there money. For the most part, Since dating sites are pretty much the same.. i dont recommend canceling your profile and not to give up...you never know where and when you'll find your next mate ( IF YOUR SERIOUS) but i recommend not too put your eggs all in one basket and continue to explore and expand your horizons in the dating world. HEY YOU NEVER KNOW
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
A waste of time!!WOman are prey!May 18, 2011 By Mekaloves
This like so many other women have said this site is only filled with dudes looking for one night stands. I'm have deleted 2 profiles on my own! lol The old saying is true you get what you pay for! I'm taking the old fashion route and just smile, to meet men. Or go to a pay site I always hear good stories about them, but their prices are ridiculous!
10 of 17 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
misunderstood and wrongly appliedMay 15, 2011 By MannGoatt
After using almost every legit pay dating site, after 4 years, I'm still only a member of POF. I haven't paid once on POF. I use it free and I meet Quality and interesting women of all ages around Vancouver Island and Mainland. Forget Craigslist, ect. This is the real deal if you want Real full spectrum relationships. If you want sex and only nasty minded crud, then yes you will not 'score' at all there. You are what you are and it is spelled out when you fill out your profile and your Flex shot. The Morality of members is at question, not the POF. It's superior for a free service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Women BewareApril 23, 2011 By xyz8901
I was on POF for a few months and decided to delete my profile. It seemed like all I got were e-mails from guys who were obviously trolling for their next one night stand. I even had a couple ask me for topless photos within the 3rd message. If all you want is a meaningless 1 or 2 night relationship, then this is the website you want!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Non transsexual friendly website.April 15, 2011 By TGirl_4_Life
I've had 2 accounts and both accounts we're removed.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very unfriendly to transgendered personsMarch 08, 2011 By romanaxx
Well, I guess I am off the site...tried and convicted with no trial. There is a lady who is the self-proclaimed guardian of dress codes. No matter how I am dressed, I am still a heterosexual male. Transwomen are advised to pass on POF.
7 of 12 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
busy looking, hard to navigateMarch 02, 2011 By benheartman
I am tired of seeing these ""free"" sites popping up all over the place that are full of ads and have junk all over the screen. Half of these have fake, unverified profiles only so they can say ""we have more members...."" blah, blah, blah A recent site I ran across was alumnidate.com - they actually screen all the photos before they are posted on the site to give their members a quality experience. You should check them out.
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Plenty of Fish ScamJanuary 21, 2011 By DenaeEspinosa
On Plenty of Fish I received an email from someone out of state immediately giving me his yahoo account and wanting to chat there. RED FLAG. His profile said he was educated but I could tell by his messages he was not. So I sent him an email asking him what country he was from. I was mysteriously logged out and when I returned the member's messages were gone. No history. This tells me the site is involved in some kind of scam. Also my email was hacked.
12 of 29 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DO NOT BECOME A MEMBER OF PLENTY OF FISHNovember 16, 2010 By PLANO1949
OK, yes, it's ""free of charge"". But, in my opinion, after being on this dating site for approximately 18 months, it was a total waste of my time. I sincerely believe I had a very good profile, good photos, etc. Too many women (and men) are just going by the photos...and you really just don't KNOW IF those photos are current or real. And you can't TRUST what's written in those PROFILES either...people can write anything. I think this is a format where people can be WHO they WANT to be and often NOT WHO they REALLY are! And why is it that we men always get stuck with the cost of EVERY date? If there's a GREAT match, don't both the man & the woman stand to gain?! I once posted a photo of myself wearing cut-offs, it was not in anyway indescent...but, the editor of the site removed that photo 3 times, then e-mailed me and warned me not to post it again. If you're a male and you've been on PLENTY OF FISH, you probably have seen plenty of women's PROFILES with photos of them wearing nothing but a bra & panties...to me, that's not appropriate...the site has a DOUBLE STANDARD. Also, you should KNOW...I'm pretty sure about this, that NOW, the site is owned by MATCH.COM...and it's my personal opinion that MATCH.COM sells e-mail addresses and makes a TON of $$$$$$ by doing so...they have millions of subscribers on both MATCH.COM and PLENTY OF FISH all over the World. I also happend to believe that women need to understand that most likely, over 50% of the men on PLENTY OF FISH are ""MARRIED""...not single or divorced...a word to the wise. The only real WINNERS on PLENTY OF FISH are the Owners...though it's free to the members, the Owners are making millions of dollars off of advertisers! I'd be surprised if more than 2% of the members ever find true love on this site.
88 of 114 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Plenty of Fish isn't Private!August 18, 2010 By gixxerguy750
Plenty of fish allows google to crawl its website and cache profiles, so be warned. If you sign up with Plenty of Fish your name can be searched off of Google and will stay in their cache for years. Try searching on my username and see!
55 of 58 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Can't get signed upAugust 15, 2010 By ellenwolfie
I keep trying to sign up, then I can't get my state in the place for the state - it keeps giving me all kinds of arab names of states! Anyone around who can help with this?
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Having your profile deletedJuly 11, 2010 By harleyroadbtinternet.com
I guess that a user, VP1, has reported me to POF when I responded to her rudeness about my profile pictures. It seems that ""MARKUS"" loves to play judge and jury in these matters without reference to the user affected by his actions. I am pleased to be off the site but sad that good relationships I had been developing are instantly lost.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
who would have guessedMay 24, 2010 By ricardo22641
The design of the registration form with a mandatory clause in it is extraordinary in its presumption that information offered by possible members is bona fide in the first instance. Secondly, some questions could be totally irrelevant to some people but must be answered which would give the wrong impression on a profile when it comes to matching. That in turn would impact very negatively on a first date. Either this is designed with little thought or it was designed to imply quality in membership which is a very misguided notion if there ever was one. The questionnaire should be broader and far more flexible. Having made 2 attempts to register with a pop up telling me it's not this or not that, smacks of unreasonable control.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
The wild west of datingMay 05, 2010 By voradtralundir
I have been on Plenty of Fish for a couple months now. In that time I have had to create four profiles just to continue to use the site. My profile had been deleted three times with no warning or explanation given on any occasion. The help section suggests if that happens (for reasons unknown) simply re-register. I believe the site is self regulating, there is no one to contact in the event of problems or to ask questions, instead there are a few moderators. The ability to ban or block or warn or delete people seems to be achieved by a user simply pulling the appropriate response from a pulldown menu. I met one girl who talked about getting together but I began to detect a sob story of poverty when she mentioned she had been out of work and needed to find a second job to pay her rent. It occurred to me she was only there for money and I complained to her about it -and found my profile deleted the next time I logged in. I would echo the experiences of other users who found fake or misleading profiles or people who were not so much interested in dating but were narcissistic enough to believe they may eventually hook up with George Clooney. It is certainly no worse than either Match or Yahoo personals - which both issued me refunds when I complained about their lack of profile vetting. The only thing that is better about Plenty of Fish is that it is free... and I guess you get what you pay for, so by default, it is better than Match.com or Yahoo Personals. Not a glowing recommendation however when you can say: ""We're not as bad as the others because we're free""
17 of 24 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
money rip off'sMarch 31, 2010 By tixalltime
I was on p.o.f. as a member and met a really nice woman on the site and after 2 dates she said she would have to stop as her car needed repairs and as a single parent she was unable to get a bank loan so I gave her 600.00 pounds to get her car repairs done as yes the date's stopped and as the only contact I had was through p.o.f she blocked me so I set up another profile and yes she blocked me again and sent message to p.o.f saying she was being harrassed so they deleted me for good and when I compain they don't want to know. I went to the police but as I only had her first name of ""maggie"" and site name ""incandescant"" there was nothing they could do for me either. I hope the site owners read this and know that there are a lot of women feeding off men knowing they can get away with it every time by crying ""wolf"" and get the full backing from site owners. yes, there is the saying ""no fool like an old fool"" and yes i was a fool handing over money to her but the way I have been treated by site owners is disgraceful. I hope they sleep well at night. My advice, join MATCH.com and get good service...
12 of 24 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
PofDecember 31, 2009 By Ohiogirl123
I'm sorry but i have been on pof for over a year now. All you find on that site is guys that just want to have a one night stand or guys pictures that are over a year old. I have a few friends on that site and they all say that there are too many fake girls on this site. I have run into that with a few guys. Also having no im sucks because you have to send an email back and forth and that's no fun you get tired of doing that it's just easy to im.
27 of 33 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
plenty of fish in the sea, but not this cesspoolDecember 19, 2009 By ac78
Plenty of fake profiles/scammers/spammers (as one would expect on a free site) but the part that makes the site truly not worth your time is the actual users on it. Extreme levels of self centeredness and arrogance permeate the userbase, and trying to get to know anyone is an exercise in irritation. If you even want to get a response from anyone be sure to swipe a picture of a model from somewhere and put it up as yourself as well as assuring the other person that you're very wealthy and are willing to support their drug/alcohol/whatever habit. Though I imagine those things probably go for any internet dating site, but there's a level of dishonesty and self centeredness with nothing to assist you in getting past it on plentyoffish.com that it's almost surreal.
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
dating and maybe able to go to for a coffeeNovember 18, 2009 By rootbear60
l am a lady who speak her mind l have been living on my own for 12 years. l have 3 childen and 2 great grand children. l like to go o ut for nice lunch or supper,play a cards alot go to the legion work cooking. go to coffee when l can take bus tour go gamble once a month donot drive l walk a lot. l can be a nice person l donot smoke and hope you do not l do drink a bit like white wine bye for now
1 of 51 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
plenty of fish is plenty of funSeptember 10, 2009 By intunedonna
much more fun and interactive than the site I paid for only days before I found plenty of fish!
44 of 52 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Depends on what you're looking for I supposeAugust 15, 2009 By catonahotinroof
I can't address the effectiveness of this site as a means of finding a long-term relationship, or just dating, but as a 47 year old woman who posted under ""Intimate Encounter"" I have to say that I've been pretty happy with the results. I've had very little contact from weirdos, and most of the connections I've made have turned out to be pretty positive. The key is to be careful in what you include in your profile. Honesty here, as it generally is, is the best policy.
46 of 60 people found this review helpful.